The Three Most Important Songs In My Life

NOTE: This is a post written as an exercise for the Writing 101 workshop.


First of all, I am late to the party…again. Writing 101 started last Monday and here I am writing my first post–task #3–on a Wednesday. I have yet to do task #’s 1 and 2.

Today’s task is about sharing the three most important songs in my life but at the same time I also have to write freely. Well, nothing makes me clam up more than having to write something about my song choices AND having to just write–no editing, no re-reading the past sentences once written, only writing.  Which is very hard, since I made it a habit to first edit what I want to write in my head and then edit them again as I write them down (or type them out rather). It will be a while before I get used to this free writing thing.

As for my three most important songs, well, I don’t really have any. Music has never been that important to me, except when I some sounds to fill the room. I pretty much enjoy almost every kind of music, and I am never a snob towards any genre. The only time I pay more attention to the songs, though, is when I am in love. It’s a good thing then that I am in love now or else I will have nothing to write about. So here are the three most important songs in my life since I met Jacob, my significant other:

Live and Die by The Avett Brothers

This is the first song that Jacob asked me to listen to because it reminded him of me when he heard it:

And I want to love you and more

I want to find you and more

Where do you reside?

When you hide, how can I find you?

– Live and Die by The Avett Brothers

We weren’t an official couple yet back then, buuut he had already admitted to me that he likes me. I, on the other hand, being a coward, held back my feelings and did not confess that I like him back when in fact I did. Still, I knew that he knew how I felt for him.

Make You Feel My Love by Adele

A song that still makes me tear up whenever I hear it, Jacob asked me to listen to this a few months into our relationship.

I know you haven’t made your mind up yet

But I will never do you wrong.

I’ve known it from the moment that we met

No doubt in my mind where you belong.

– Make You Feel My Love by Adele

I love that particular stanza because it encapsulates exactly what my SO feels about me–about us. Even though we haven’t been together for so long, we have gone through several major hardships that either strengthen or break a relationship, we committed to ourselves and to each other to make this work and to communicate as often and as effectively as we can. I am so happy to find someone who actually wants me, who is happy to give me 100% of his attention, and who treats me the way I have always wanted to be treated–like I am special, like I am the most beautiful girl in the world even when I am obviously not. Feeling his love even from far away makes me want to love him back more and more.

Forever by Ben Harper

Which brings me to the song I dedicate to Jacob. I may have been afraid in the beginning.

So give me your forever

Please your forever

Not a day less will do

From you.

– Forever by Ben Harper

I have been hurt so often for falling in love too fast, for getting attached too quickly, and for being too naïve about love. Not only did I find my ideal man in him, but he also inspired me to be the ideal partner. Everyday I learn to love myself and be my best. He supports me and cheers me on in everything I do, whether it’s my goal to lose weight (or to be healthy, since he claims I do not need to lose weight at all), to work on my career, or anything I think of wanting to do, and I do the same for him. Not only is Jacob my boyfriend, but he is also my best friend. I trust him more than I trust anyone. He knows my craziest dreams and my worst fears, he knows when I am about to cry or when I am starting to get mad, and he knows how to calm me down or confront me when I am acting like a bitch.

Off-Topic: My commitment to writing

Aside from sharing my three most important songs, today’s writing exercise also wants me to commit to a writing practice.

When I decided to join the Writing 101 workshop, I have already made a commitment to write everyday to keep up with the assigned tasks and then once a week when the workshop is over. I also planned to spend at least 30 minutes to writing, but I think it’s not enough. I will work my way to finding the right amount of time I could dedicate to blogging, but for now I guess 30 minutes, or until I finish writing a post, will do.

4 thoughts on “The Three Most Important Songs In My Life

  1. The way you write makes me feel like we are sitting face to face over a cup of coffee. Free, relaxed and personal. I love the way you worked the songs into the writing and didn’t just list them and then explain. And the significant part of the song that you added connected the feeling of your new relationship with the song itself.

    I found I was writing from the prompt category instead of the assignments so I am also behind. I have to do View From a Room and 3 songs yet today.
    I am not up on much of todays popular music but I do like all kinds of music so thinking of picking a song from 3 significant eras in my life that have been my favorites.
    Guess I had better get busy.
    Happy writing
    J. Bird

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, J Bird! I was afraid I will be holding too much back as I wrote but I’m glad it didn’t turn out like that.

      I look forward to reading your post. I have been too busy to read what the others have done but I will make time for it starting today.

      Like

Please leave your 2 cents here:

