What I Learned From Joining Writing 101

The Writing 101 workshop is over, and even though it was fun and I met interesting bloggers there, I felt like I wasted an opportunity to actually build a writing habit. However, just like with any experience, there are still lessons from this, so I took some time to reflect on what I learned and I’m sharing them with you:

1. I don’t have time to write every day.

Writing is like a chicken-and-egg situation: you have to live your life and be inspired by the outside world to find something to write about, and you also have to find time to write to share what you experienced or what you are thinking of. One of my problems lies in finding time–I do not have enough in one day for everything I need and want to do. I spend almost three-fourths of my day working. When I get home, I usually just go straight to bed. Sometimes I drink coffee to keep myself awake enough to write something, but caffeine can only do so much. When the body needs to rest, it will rest.

2. I can be quite impatient with my writing.

When I was doing one of the assignments, which involved writing a story in three different points of view, I ended up not publishing it. At first, I had a clear idea of what I want it to be about. However, as I started writing the details leading up to the main idea, I started doubting myself. I thought it wasn’t good enough, then thought of another idea, so I scrapped what I wrote and redid everything. I did this around 3 to 4 times until I got bored.

It seems that once I have a main idea for my writing, I want to head straight to it and forget about the supporting details. This post is actually another example: I had an easy time writing exactly what I learned from joining the workshop, but when I had to expound on them, I had to fight myself into staying focused on the details.

3. I can’t write something that does not have anything to do with me.

I find this observation very disturbing. While I was doing the same said assignment and the one about the most interesting person I met this year (which I did not publish as well), I had a really difficult time outlining what I wanted to write. Aside from being impatient with creating a vivid description about the person who was not me, I also got bored with it. Am I a narcissist, or have I just not done enough to explore the world outside of myself and my ego? Or maybe it’s both?

Where do I go from here?

Of course, after learning more about myself, I have to do something about these “weaknesses” if I want to bring back my passion for writing. While I have some ideas on what to do, I’m not sharing them yet. Consider this the first part of a series of posts.

What is one thing you learned about yourself when you joined Writing 101 or (if you didn’t join the workshop) since you started blogging?

7 thoughts on “What I Learned From Joining Writing 101

  1. I registered for the last writing101 session but never made it past the first assignment… I agree, writing takes a great deal of time and effort as I was trying to do blogging101 at the same time but just couldn’t keep up. I’m also slow at writing so :/
    Anyhow, even though the course has ended I’m going to try and complete those assignments on my own. If you check the commons some of the members have fortunately set up another place to get feedback and it’s pretty active right now.

    Like

    1. Wow, thank you for letting me know about the new place. I’ll definitely join it!

      I also hope you’ll build a writing habit. :) It can get really frustrating when you really want to write but don’t have enough time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate when you say you don’t have time- that’s how I was during final year college. But sometimes you’ve got to really try and make time for stuff you love. Work is important, but no one regrets not spending more time in work when they’re old- it’s missing out on the things they love they’ll regret. Even if it’s only 5 mins a day- it’d make a difference :)
    And about being impatient and doubting yourself- sometimes you’ve just gotta do it. I heard once that the reason kids learn languages so much better is because they’re not constantly worrying about messing up. They just keep saying crap til they get the right words; they keep trying. Sometimes you just have to switch off that part of your mind that’s afraid of mistakes, that’s afraid of not being good enough and just go for it. Mistakes and all- feck it. It’s through our mistakes we learn :)

    Good luck :D

    Like

  3. “I can’t write something that does not have anything to do with me.”
    in the beginning i have also some problems regarding this matter since i only write true to life stories. being part of writing 101 taught me to overcome that hurdle. i am still struggling with fiction but i believe i’m getting there.
    thanks for liking one of my unpopular posts. i’ will be heading out in a minute to some appointment but i’ll come back later to properly look at your blog. ciao kiddo!

    Like

    1. Aww. I did not expect you to look at my blog! I really love your writing. I love the way you tell your story, as if I was there as well. Thank you so much, Bebong, for leaving a comment and I look forward to reading more of your posts soon!

      Like

      1. That’s the least I could do. I always try to get a little bit acquainted with my visitors to show them that their efforts don’t go unnoticed. And I see to it that I don’t just say the customary hello and thank you. Have a wonderful weekend full of pleasant surprises.

        Liked by 1 person

Please leave your 2 cents here:

