The Sins I Have and Haven’t Committed

"Sometimes the sins you haven't committed are all you have left to hold onto." - David SedarisI just had a bad week. I fell short on my two main commitments: blogging and weight loss. Not only did I only work out twice this week instead of my minimum target of 3, I also over-ate for a few days. And then, AND THEN, I was not able to finish what I was originally publishing for today, which was the second part to last week’s post. I have tried to write it since last Monday, but I don’t know…I think I’m losing my drive again. And I’m so scared of this because if I fall I don’t know how long before I get the courage to get back up. I don’t want to fall. I don’t want to have to start over and over and over.

I’m not entirely sure how the image above (with a quote I received from Goodreads‘ newsletter) relates to what I’m writing now, because I definitely have committed a lot of “sins” this week. This picture was also supposed to be in the post I was planning to publish today because (Spoiler alert!) it ties together what I have wanted to say for weeks now.

But anyway, I hope that you have had no regrets this week–that you have no “sins” that you wish you committed. But if you have any regrets, learn to forgive yourself. That’s what I’m doing. Tomorrow, Sunday, is a new day and the start of a new week. Tomorrow I will continue what I started–Week 1, Day 3 of my C25K challenge, my diet, and keeping this blog active–and at the same time starting over with a new determination. I hope you will do the same.

8 thoughts on “The Sins I Have and Haven’t Committed

  1. spare me with that guilty trip. take it easy on yourself. you’re taking blogging too seriously. it’s not the end of the world if you haven’t posted anything.

    i think what’s important is to establish a daily routine, say, dedicate the same half hour of the day to writing. if nothing comes out during that alloted period, it’s fine. you’re done for the day.

    and i see nothing wrong with eating. just don’t mix it up with other stuff. eating at your desk at work or having snacks while in front of the computer is a big no-no. in this context, multitasking is toxic to your diet gpals.

    now if i sound like a bully, i probably am. peace. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! You are right, I tend to be overly dramatic at times. :p But I hope you’d understand that I am trying to discipline myself. I haven’t really been committed to anything even when I was in school and now that I am working that it is almost damaging my professional image. I want to discipline myself and show myself that I can actually commit to something starting with a hobby that I like, which is writing, and something that affects my health, which is weight loss. If I can just prove to myself that I can actually do these then I believe I’ll regain my confidence to, um, take on the world. But yes it is a little dramatic and I may have to scale it back a bit. :p

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes when you’re most afraid of failure, it’s when you fail most. That’s what I’ve found anyway. Every time I tell myself that “bad things will happen if I fail”, it’s all I can think about and it puts so much more pressure on me. Instead it’s better to tell yourself- “I want to succeed. What great things will happen WHEN I succeed?” Of course they’ll be bumps in the road and you might take a few scenic detours, but the journey’s part of the learning experience. And that makes you stronger too. That’s all this was- a bump in the road. You can’t be perfect all the time, but if you can keep that determination and drive, you will succeed. Even if it takes a bit longer, the fact that you still have that determination means you’re well on your way. Qcat believes in ya, Nella :D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s beautiful. I especially love the question about what will happen when I succeed. I am definitely going to write that down and post it on my bedroom mirror so I can see it easily. Thank you, qcat! :)

      Like

Please leave your 2 cents here:

