NEW FITNESS FRIDAY: What ever happened to this year’s weight loss goal?

Remember my post about some easy steps to losing weight, and how I’m trying each step one at a time? Well, even though I haven’t written about anything else related to these, I never stopped doing each step. But this weight loss “journey” warrants an update now, because every Friday I will be posting about this or something else that’s fitness related. So here’s a list of what I did following steps 1 to 5:

  1. I stopped drinking cucumber lemon water. Instead I focused on drinking at least 8 glasses of water a day. Although I loved cucumber lemon water, I didn’t have time to slice a few bits every night. Of course, that was when I had a job, so I figured I should start again today. Maybe it will help with my hydration especially after my workouts.
  2. I have a difficulty eating fruits every day for two reasons: one, we don’t always have fruits at home; and two, most of the fruits stocked in our home are hard to open (e.g. pomelo or avocado). Now that I’m writing about it, though, I shamefully admit that I am just making excuses, so I am going to try harder now.
  3. To cut down on portion size, I decided to measure and track what I have been eating. While the advice from the “7 steps” post said to eat until you stop feeling hungry instead of eating until you feel full, I thought it may be wasteful sometimes. I mean, what if I stop feeling hungry but there’s still some food on my plate? So I did a harder method instead, where on the first week I ate as much as I usually do, measured them, and tracked them on My Fitness Pal. By doing so I learned the harsh truth when I saw how many calories I was eating, and how many calories each food contains. With this knowledge, I became more careful with what I eat. There  were times when I would still feel hungry, but I learned to combat this by drinking water first, and if I am still hungry I’ll grab a light snack that’s only around 100 calories.
  4. Does using an electric panini maker count as cooking? After my afternoon run, I chose to not eat rice during dinner (I’m a rice addict, that’s how Asian I am) and just make a caprese panini using whole wheat bread. You might be like my SO and say something like, “But bread is also full of carbs like rice,” which is true, but the difference for me is I can control my bread consumption more than I do with rice. Also, I still live with my parents and there’s usually a meal already prepared for the family, so I just make enough food for myself, and a panini is easy to make for just one person. I’m going to check with my mom if I could make some healthy food for the family (I can already hear my brothers’ gasps of horror at this proposal) or I’ll just research healthy recipes for one serving.
  5. I’m not good at avoiding desserts, but it’s okay. Even though I love chocolate, we don’t always have one in stock. And when we do have some at home, I don’t devour them all in one sitting. I’m proud to say that I can control this urge (much more than controlling my urge to eat more rice), and I am satisfied with one square of a chocolate bar or one piece of individually wrapped chocolate candy after a meal.
  6. I also work out, and I am now on Week 3 of the Couch-to-5K programI have been doing it for 5 weeks now, but there was one week when I only ran once, and currently I am having difficulty with the 3rd week exercise, so I’m trying to get used to it before I move on to Week 4. If you’d like to do this program as well, here’s a great visual guide:
Taken from the C25k subreddit.

Unfortunately, I haven’t lost much weight since I started, but I’m not letting it stop me from eating healthy and being more active. Instead of weight loss, however, I am experiencing surprisingly different results. I don’t dread my workout sessions anymore. I am also developing some healthy habits. Most significant and surprising of all is, I am starting to feel good about myself. While I still hope to lose 52 lbs. this year, I am happy with where I am heading.

If you resolved to lose weight this year, how are you doing so far?

4 thoughts on “NEW FITNESS FRIDAY: What ever happened to this year’s weight loss goal?

  1. nothing’s wrong with you, kid. eat as much as you want. just don’t combine it with other activities like watching tv, doing computer stuff, reading your favorite book, etc. good luck. :)

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your 2 cents here:

