FITNESS FRIDAY: 5 Health and Fitness Apps I Use and Love

In my efforts to lose weight, I found some iPhone and iPad apps to help me out.

A screenshot of C25K app's free version. The paid version doesn't show any ads like the one at the bottom of the screen.
A screenshot of C25K app’s free version. The paid version doesn’t show any ads like the one at the bottom of the screen.

C25K Free. My main companion during my runs, the C25K Free app has a timer and a voice “coach” that alerts you when it’s time to warm up, run, walk, and cool down. I appreciate that it also lets me know when I am halfway through the workout or when I have 1 minute left before cool down–these alerts motivate me to keep running even when I’m tired, because I know it will be over soon. Once the run is over, I get to share it on Twitter (you can also share it on Facebook)  and log my workout on MyFitnessPal. The problem is, for some reason, the workout is logged on the next day instead of the current day, but other than that the app works really well. C25K Free is available on iOS and Android.

Photo 3-12-15, 10 50 15 PM
A screenshot of Interval Timer app for iOS.

Interval Timer (Free). Before I discovered that there is actually a C25K app, I used to time my runs using Interval Timer. I love how customizable each set is–I can set the timer for every high interval and low interval, and for how many sets I will do. I can also set a unique sound for each alert. Although I prefer the C25K app over this one, I recommend Interval Timer for those who do timed workouts. Interval Timer (Free) is available on iOS.

A screenshot of My Fitness Pal app's home page.
A screenshot of My Fitness Pal app’s home page.

MyFitnessPal (Free). A few years ago, I went online every day to log my calories on MyFitnessPal, but I stopped sometime after. Last year, my SO told me about the app, so I tried using it again (mainly so I can add him as a friend there). I love how easy it is to log my food, my weight, and my workouts. I also appreciate the report shown after logging everything I ate for the day and see how I would weigh in 5 weeks if I keep eating the same thing every day. It effectively puts into perspective how the amount of what I am eating affects my weight. You can use MyFitnessPal on your web browser, iOS, and Android.

A screenshot of Simply Yoga (Free). That is actually a video demonstrating the pose.
A screenshot of Simply Yoga (Free). That is actually a video demonstrating the pose.

Simply Yoga Free. Because I don’t want to go to yoga classes that are filled with strangers, I downloaded this app instead. You can choose how long you want to work out, whether it’s 20, 40, or 60 minutes. The free app gives you the first set of workout. When you buy the premium version, you will get access to the second set, the custom workouts, and no more ads. Simply Yoga Free is available on both iOS and Android.

Home page of the Daily Workouts app. You can choose what kind of exercise you want to do. the icons with a padlock on it means they haven't been purchased yet.
Home page of the Daily Workouts app. You can choose what kind of exercise you want to do. the icons with a padlock on it means they haven’t been purchased yet.

Daily Workouts ($3.99). From the same maker of Simply Yoga Free is the Daily Workouts app, which consists of a collection of workouts. Choose from exercises for abs, arms, butt, cardio, legs, full body, ball (additional $2.99), stretch (additional $2.99), pilates (additional $2.99), and kettle (additional $2.99). I downloaded this because it has complete workouts for all parts of the body. I also paid extra for the stretch workout, which has separate sets of stretching for each part of the body. Like the Simply Yoga app, it also has a video of each workout to demonstrate how it’s done, along with text instructions. I use this app for my pre-workout stretching and also for days when I only have 30 minutes at most to exercise. You can check out the app on its official website.

Do you use any health and fitness app that you’d like to recommend? Share them in the comments!

8 thoughts on “FITNESS FRIDAY: 5 Health and Fitness Apps I Use and Love

  1. All the apps seem good to me :). I actually used Daily workouts last year for a time and it did really help me feel good. Have you heard of Noom Coach? Its a food/workout log book too.

    Like

Please leave your 2 cents here:

