Mid-Year Performance: How Are Your New Year’s Resolutions Going?

Mid-Year Performance

In my Obligatory New Year’s Post, I resolved to lose weight as well as keep this blog active. Unfortunately, I neglected both goals for the past 3 months. Ever since I got a new job as a writer/web content manager in which I work an average of 60 hours a week, I had a hard time keeping up with my blogging habits and fitness routine. I also stopped being mindful of what I eat and have been binging on a lot of food. Because of this, I gained even more weight.

However, I am not giving up. I still have 6 more months to get fit, and I have tons of ideas for this blog that I do not want to let go of. I actually spent several weeks planning what’s next for my goals, but I forgot all of them when I read a post on /r/getdisciplined about setting a goal and forgetting about it, which I will talk about in my next post. Hopefully, by the end of the month, I’ll be used to blogging again (particularly with blogging using my iPad, like I’m doing now) that I will revive my other segments such as Motivation Monday. Let this be my “mid-year resolution”, though I am getting tired of making such stuff at this point.

How about you: Did you make any new year’s resolution for 2015? Are you still keeping them? Do you even remember what they were? Let me know in the comments, I would love to hear from you!

10 thoughts on “Mid-Year Performance: How Are Your New Year’s Resolutions Going?

  1. I love the idea of a mid-year evaluation- definitely helpful to take stock of how things are going. And I’m so glad that you still have that determination- you’ll be grand, Nelle- I’m sure you’ll reach your goals :)

    My resolutions are going fairly good- I’m happy with my cooking goals (still alive lol) and art goals, still need to work on my music ones though. In January, I made a photo edit on Paint Shop that had images that represented my main goals- fitness, positivity, music and art. I printed it and wrote my specific goals on the back. I use it as a book mark and every night when I write in my diary, I see it. It’s a great motivator :)

    Like

    1. Hi, Qcat! Thank you for sharing. I love that you made a bookmark to visualize your goals, that’s a great idea. And I’d love to learn more about your cooking. :) What’s your favorite dish to cook? How do you challenge yourself in cooking?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. At the moment, I’m very into stir-frying and egg dishes. I love slicing avocado into tiny pieces, mixing that into eggs and frying it like a pancake/crepe. So sooo nice for breakfast and really filling :) But then when the gas at my house went, I can’t do that at the moment, so I’m baking egg muffins instead :)
        RE challenging myself- I keep trying to make myself try new recipes and cooking styles. So instead of just baking everything in the oven like I used to, I’m using pans and saucepans and anything else I can find. :)
        Do you like cooking Nelle? :)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh wow the sliced avocado in eggs seems delicious, I will have to try that! I love to cook but I’m still terrible at knowing if the food’s already cooked so I always end up with burnt food. :( so unless I have a timer with me I have to make do with that. :p I love your recipes, are you thinking of posting some of your creations on your blog?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You have to try it- they go so well together! :D I used to be terrible at telling if food is cooked. Usually you can tell from how it feels with a fork- vegetables will be nice and soft, and with chicken- you can tell it’s cooked if you prod it and if the fork comes out dry :) Or the Qcat fool-proof method: cook until everything is black, then pray to the old gods and the new that you don’t get food poisoning :D
    Thanks Nelle. I’m actually thinking of doing a cooking challenge- similar to my fitness challenges in the past but where I try and learn new recipes. I’m definitely not a five star chef, but I’d love to improve :)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Nelle. At the moment, I’m making some changes to my blog. I actually got thinking after I read this post- prompted me to do a bit of an evaluation on things, so thank you for that :D

        Liked by 1 person

Please leave your 2 cents here:

